Sir Ben Kingsley Honored At The Algemeiner's J100 Gala

Actor Sir Ben Kingsley and U.K. Channel 4 TV star Rachel Riley were honored at The Algemeiner’s 6th Annual J100 Gala in New York on September 26, 2019. The evening celebrated the release of the Algemeiner’s J100 List; 100 significant individuals who influence Jewish life.

Sir Ben Kingsley And Rachel Riley Honored By The Algemeiner At J100 Gala

Editor In Chief and CEO, Dovid Efune, and Publisher Simon Jacobson welcomed guests to the important evening. “How does the tragic story of antisemitism end? Who can say? What we do know is that we are called on today to write our chapter in the book. We are determined that it shall never be said that under our watch the beast of antisemitism reawakened and that it did so unopposed” said Efune.

Holocaust survivor Halina Silber, number 16 on Oskar Schindler's list, presented Kingsley the newspaper’s illustrious Warrior For Truth award. In 1993 Kingsley embodied Itzhak Stern in the movie, Schindler's List. Kinglsey was welcomed to the stage with a standing ovaion. He thanked his wife, Daniela Lavender, in the audience before recalling the many roles he’s acted that draw a spotlight on Judiasism and antisemitism. “When I met with the great Steven Spielberg to discuss playing Itzhak Stern I asked him ‘what is my narrative function in this role?’ and he said ‘Conscious. Witness’.

The evening's Master of Ceremonies was CNN journalist Bianna Golodryga. Speakers included Consul General of Israel in New York Ambassador Dani Dayan, David Sterling and Ben Newhouse. Guests included Ira and Ingeborg Rennert, the Mayor of Beverly Hills John A. Mirisch, Sima and Morad Ghadamian, David Steinmann, George Farmer, Joseph and Deborah Aronow, Sam Herzberg, Shalom and Iris Maidenbaum, Gail Propp, Michael and Dana Cohen, Richard Miller, Mark Moskowitz, Ariel and Aleta Grunberg, Michael and Tanya Grunberg, Martin Sanders, Sol and Meri Barer, Jeffrey H. Rosen, Jonathan Holtzman, Ron Agam, James Taranto, Rickie Freeman, Buck Sexton, Dominic Green, Marty Peretz, Jere Van Dyk, Sir Clive Gillinson, Tuvia Tenenbom, Tunku Varadarajan, and Erwin Pearl. Event Chairs were Robert H. and Amy Book, and Neil and Sharon Book. Honorary Chairman was Bernard-Henri Levy.

Have a listing you think should be featured contact us or email at to tell us more! Follow Off The MRKT on Twitter and Instagram, and like us on Facebook.